Workshop honoring John Ohala

Times are displayed in the following timezone :

Day 1

Opening the workshop

  • 2021-03-12 17:00 (UTC) Jean-Marie Hombert, Laboratoire Dynamic du Langage, Université de Lyon (jeanmarie.hombert@gmail.com) « John Ohala: my teacher, my colleague and my friend »

Session 1: Chair John Kingston

  • 2021-03-12 17:11 (UTC) Björn Lindblom, Department of Linguistics, Stockholm University (lindblom@ling.su.se) « A phonetician’s battle against Autonomous Linguistics – An exercise in Integrative Phonology »
  • 2021-03-12 17:37 (UTC) Klaus Kohler (read by Björn Lindblom)
  • 2021-03-12 17:43 (UTC) Susanne Fuchs, Zentrum für Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft (fuchs@leibniz-zas.de) « About the involvement of respiration in short temporal windows »
  • 2021-03-12 17:59 (UTC) Jean-Luc Schwartz, GIPSA-lab, L’Université de Grenoble-Alpes (jean-luc.schwartz@gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr) and Lucie Menard, Laboratoire de Phonétique, Université du Québec à Montréal (menard.lucie@uqam.ca) « Structured idiosyncrasies in vowel systems, an intriguing case of Mutual Use of Available Features at the phonetic level »
  • 2021-03-12 18:15 (UTC) Jane Stuart-Smith, Department of English Language and Linguistics, Univeristy of Glasgow (Jane.Stuart-Smith@glasgow.ac.uk) « Making waves: Re ections on Ohala’s contribution to comparative philology »

10 minute break

Session 2: Chair Didier Demolin

  • 2021-03-12 18:40 (UTC) Sieb Nooteboom, Department of Languages, Literature and Communication, Universiteit Utrecht (s.g.nooteboom@uu.nl) and Hugo Quené, Department of Languages, Literature and Communication, Universiteit Utrecht (H.Quene@uu.nl) « On the mental representations of speech sounds »
  • 2021-03-12 18:56 (UTC) Rungpat Roengpitya, Faculty of Liberal Arts, Mahidol University (rungpat@gmail.com), (rungpat.roe@mahidol.ac.th) « Thai Tones: Then and Now. »
  • 2021-03-12 19:12 (UTC) Marzena Zygis, Zentrum für Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft (zygis@zas.gwz-berlin.de) « The role of aerodynamics in explaining sound patterns:infrequency of voiced affricates »
  • 2021-03-12 19:28 (UTC) Jürgen Trouvain, Language Science and Technology, Universität des Saarlandes (trouvain@coli.uni-saarland.de) « Aerodynamic voicing constraints in stops: from Wolfgang von Kempelen to John Ohala »

10 minute break

Session 3: Chair John Kingston

  • 2021-03-12 19:53 (UTC) Terrance M. Nearey, Department of Linguistics, University of Alberta (tnearey@ualberta.ca) and Bruce Derwing, Department of Linguistics, University of Alberta (bderwing@me.com) « ICSLP 92 and the visiting professorships of John and Manjari Ohala at the University of Alberta (1991-92) »
  • 2021-03-12 20:08 (UTC) Steven Greenberg, Silicon Speech (steveng@savant-garde.net) « Pathways to Meaning »
  • 2021-03-12 20:24 (UTC) Jeri J. Jaeger, Department of Linguistics, University at Buffalo (jjaeger@buffalo.edu) « The Story of J »
  • 2021-03-12 20:40 (UTC) Ryan Shosted, Department of Linguistics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (rshosted@illinois.edu) « A Funny thing happened on the way to the f[a]rum: The Deseret Alphabet and the cord-card merger in Utah English »

10 minute break

Session 4: Chair Didier Demolin

  • 2021-03-12 21:05 (UTC) Ian Maddieson, Department of Linguistics, University of New Mexico (ianm@berkeley.edu) « ‘The listener as a source of sound change’ as inspiration for research on environmental impacts on language design »
  • 2021-03-12 21:21 (UTC) Reiko Kataoka, Department of Linguistics and Language Development, San José State University (reiko.kataoka@sjsu.edu) « Hypo-correction as a reanalysis of subphonemic
    variation »
  • 2021-03-12 21:37 (UTC) Christian DiCanio, Department of Linguistics, University at Buffalo (cdicanio@buffalo.edu) « Speed in action: from tonal variation to tonal change »
  • 2021-03-12 21:53 (UTC) John Esling, Department of Linguistics, University of Victoria (esling@uvic.ca) and Scott R. Moisik, Linguistics and Multilingual Studies Programme, Nanyang Technological University (scott.moisik@ntu.edu.sg) « The problem with modeling is that you are doomed to success »

Manjari Ohala

Day 2

Session 5: Chair John Kingston

  • 2021-03-13 18:00 (UTC) Jacqueline Vaissière, Laboratoire de Phonétique et Phonologie, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle (vaissiere238@gmail.com) « John’s innovative research and new instrumentations as a great source of inspiration: on nasalization in the Laboratoire de Phonétique et de Phonologie in Paris »
  • 2021-03-13 18:16 (UTC) François Pellegrino, Laboratoire Dynamic du Langage, Université de Lyon (Francois.Pellegrino@univ-lyon2.fr) « On phonetic complexity and information – or where did John’s suggestion led me »
  • 2021-03-13 18:32 (UTC) Melissa Barkat-Defradas, Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution-Montpellier (melissa.barkat-defradas@umontpellier.fr) « From Code/Frequence Theory to vocal preferences in Humans »
  • 2021-03-13 18:48 (UTC) Jonathan Harrington, Institute of Phonetics and Speech Processing, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat München (jmh@phonetik.uni-muenchen.de) and Phil Hoole, Institute of Phonetics and Speech Processing, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat München (hoole@phonetik.uni-muenchen.de) « Planting the seed for sound change: Evidence from real-time MRI of velum kinematics in German »

10 minute break

Session 6: Chair Didier Demolin

  • 2021-03-13 19:13 (UTC) Maria-Josep Solé Sabater, Phonetics Laboratory, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (mariajosep.sole@uab.cat) « Developing new ways to measure phonetic parameters: successful and not-so-successful attempts »
  • 2021-03-13 19:29 (UTC) Didier Demolin, Laboratoire de Phonétique et Phonologie, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle (didier.demolin@sorbonne-nouvelle.fr) and John Kingston, Department of Linguistics, University of Massachusetts, Amherst (jkingston@linguist.umass.edu) « The evolution and history of non-pulmonic consonants »
  • 2021-03-13 19:45 (UTC) Richard Rhodes, Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley (rrhodes@berkeley.edu) « ‘The History of obstruent voicing in Ojibwe »
  • 2021-03-13 20:01 (UTC) Alan C. L. Yu, Department of Linguistics, University of Chicago (aclyu@uchicago.edu) « Speech processing variation as a source of sound change »

10 minute break

Session 7: Chair John Kingston

  • 2021-03-13 20:26 (UTC) Patrice S. Beddor, Department of Linguistics, University of Michigan (beddor@umich.edu) « Revisiting listeners turned speakers »
  • 2021-03-13 20:42 (UTC) Pierre Divenyi, Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics, Stanford University (pdivenyi@ccrma.stanford.edu), Mohamad Mrayati, United Nations Development Programme (mmrayati@gmail.com), and Rene Carré, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (recarre@orange.fr) « Transitions as speech parameters: Appendix to Moderator John Ohala’s comments at the symposium `Phonetic Universals in Phonological Systems and their Explanation’ at the 9th ICPhS, Copenhagen 1979 »
  • 2021-03-13 20:58 (UTC) Heriberto Avelino, Instituto Nacional de Antropologia e Historia, Museo Nacional de Antropologia (heriberto.avelino@gmail.com) « Final devoicing: Evidence from High Speed Videoendoscopy »
  • 2021-03-13 21:13 (UTC) Natasha Warner, Department of Linguistics, University of Arizona (nwarner@email.arizona.edu) « Pervasiveness of aerodynamics in phonetic explanations: the incompatibility of nasalization and frication »

Manjari Ohala

A lire aussi «Colloques»